Google Translate

Health & Social Care BTEC

Entry Requirements

Minimum Grade 4 GCSE in English, Maths and Science

Who is it for?

This BTEC course is for Year 12 students who have successfully completed their Level 2 courses and would like to pursue a career in the Health or Social Care sectors.

Course Structure

Single BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care

The following 4 units will be studied:

  • Unit 1- Human Lifespan Development
  • Unit 2 – Working in Health and Social Care
  • Unit 5 – Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs
  • Unit 14 – Physiological disorders and their care

Double BTEC Diploma in Health and Social Care In addition to the units above, students will also study a further four units:

  • Unit 4 – Enquiries into Current Research in Health & Social Care
  • Unit 7- Principles of safe practice in Health & Social Care
  • Unit 8 – Promoting Public Health
  • Unit 19 – Nutritional Heath


There is a mixture  of external written exams, externally set tasks by the exam  board. The subject staff will also set internally pieces of coursework that will sampled by the exam  board.

University Pathways

All universities will accept BTEC National Health & Social Care combined with other subjects (see individual university course and entry requirements). Courses include: Nursing, Midwifery, Primary Teaching, Childhood Studies and Social Work.

Apprenticeship Pathways

A variety of Apprenticeships are available in the Health & Social Care sector: Health Care Support Services, Allied Health Profession Support, Dental Nursing, Pharmacy Services, Children and Young People’s Workforce. These apprenticeships lead  to a wide range of occupations and job roles.

Career Opportunities

Nursing, Midwifery, Care Assistant, Youth Worker, Teaching, Social Care Services, Dental Nurse, Radiographer, and also carry out work experience in a variety of Health & Social Care settings.